For Immediate Release: Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation challenges new Shell tar sands mines [Video]

ACFN Indigenous people living downstream from the tar sands explain in their own words why they are saying enough is enough.

Shell Canada is proposing two new tar sands mine projects in northern Alberta, Canada. From the perspective of the Athabasca Chipewyan First Nations (ACFN), whose lands will be affected by both Shell mines, governments are not fulfilling the promises of Treaty 8. This has led them to file a challenge to the Jackpine Mine proposal under section 35 of the Canadian Constitution.

Credits:

Producer/Directors: Eriel Deranger and Melina Laboucan-Massimo

Videographers: Eagle Claw Thom & Zack Embree

Music: Meander River Dene Drummers

Recorded and engineered by: Taro Hashimoto & Curtis Cardinal

5 thoughts on “For Immediate Release: Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation challenges new Shell tar sands mines [Video]

  1. I am so happy see how the AFCN is standing up to corporations like. Shell. I worked on the Syncrude Site from 1976 to 1981. I was a labourer for 4 years and then a scaffolder for approximately 1 year. The engineers in the office told me that the Syncrude Site only worked on paper and they did not know if it would work once it went into production. When Bechtel finished construction and Syncrude went into production it was shocking how many people died for various reason. The engineers also told me that if more sites like Syncrude were to continue at the pace they were forecasting Canada would have the “Sahara Desert of the North”. When I became a scaffolder and worked up on the tall cokers and saw the devastation as I looked toward Ft. McKay – I was so horrified! I quit in 1981 and left Ft. McMurray. I honestly hoped that First Nations peoples were going to benefit from these developments. I am so sorry for what all your people are going through. I could never find anyone who was speaking out against it all and then ended up busy with children. There were no news reports with the mainstream media and so I carried on with my life. I discovered the Council of Canadians in 1997 and I hope the Council of Canadians is still helping your cause. Keep up the fight and don’t let them rape your lands as they are. Keep educating me in the way you have been doing and I will do all I can to help in whatever way I can.

Leave a Reply

